Scholarship scheme for academic exchange
between EU and
Western Balkan countries

University of Tirana, Albania

 University of Tirana, Albania Logo

University of Tirana (Universiteti i Tiranës) is located in Tirana, Albania. It was the first university in Albania when it was founded in October 1957 as the State University of Tirana (Universiteti Shtetëror i Tiranës) by joining together five existing institutes of higher education. Between 1985 and 1992 it was called Enver Hoxha University of Tirana (Universiteti i Tiranës "Enver Hoxha"); after the First Secretary of the Communist Albanian Party of Labour, Enver Hoxha). Initially it comprised ten faculties, but in 1991 it was broken up into the Polytechnic University of Tirana, which was formed of the engineering faculties, and the main University of Tirana which comprised the seven remaining faculties covering humanities, economics, natural science and medicine.The number of students attending this university is over 14,000 and the number of teaching staff is over 600. The Rector is Dhori Kule (from 2008).

University of Tirana, Albania



University of Tirana, Albania
Ervin Demo,
Bruna Nicka,

Pfeile klein s Find more information about possible fields of study here

Pfeile klein s You can download this university's general information sheet here

Pfeile klein s The University of Tirana at a glance - here

      Photo University of Tirana 01
powered by BIOBS ®